September 03, 2019

#BookReview for Aftermath by @KelleyArmstrong


Synopsis: Three years after losing her brother Luka in a school shooting, Skye Gilchrist is moving home. 

But there's no sympathy for Skye and her family because Luka wasn't a victim; he was a shooter. 

Jesse Mandal knows all too well that the scars of the past don't heal easily. 


The shooting cost Jesse his brother and his best friend--Skye.

Ripped apart by tragedy, Jesse and Skye can't resist reopening the mysteries of their past. 


But old wounds hide darker secrets. 

And the closer Skye and Jesse get to the truth of what happened that day, the closer they get to a new killer. 





Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon
About the Author: Kelley Armstrong is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Otherworld series, as well as the New York Times bestselling young adult trilogy Darkest Powers, the Darkness Rising trilogy, and the Nadia Stafford series. She lives in rural Ontario, Canada.

Rating: 
My Review:  
Reading this book was HARD being the mom of two girls in school with all of the shootings that have plagued the states the last few years made this book even harder to read. But I’m glad I did. This story gives a great message about perception, forgiveness, compassion, moving on, and acceptance. 

The characters were wonderful and you could tell how much the author wanted you to really feel what Jesse and Skye went through. From the perspectives of one teen losing a brother to a shooter. And other loosing a brother because he was a shooter. It was two sides of the same coin and I felt so bad for both of these kids and their situation. It was an in-depth look at what families of both the shooting victims and the shooters family, whom are also victims, go through in the aftermath of such an event. And although this is a story of fiction it felt all too real. 

Overall, this is a romance story but also one where a girl is just trying to move on with her life after a tragedy. Where she’s forced to face those who blame her for her brothers actions. Even though she isn’t to blame in any way. It’s about a boy who needs to stop living for his parents and start living for himself as well. 

I did love ALL of the parts with Jesse’s mom was she is a force to be reckoned with and I love her so much!! 

If you looking for a coming of age story as well as one with grief, love, and forgiveness with some major twists and turns. Check this one out. 







Go Into This One Knowing: School Shooting, Death of Siblings, Bullies, Romance







Praise for Aftermath:"Armstrong deftly works suspense into the narrative...more than just a typical murder mystery." 
-Booklist

"A powerful thriller that will surprise you at every turn." -Kirkus

Praise for Missing:

*"A compelling thriller that keeps the reader hooked until the end." -VOYA, Starred

"Thrills and mystery from a pro." -Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of Laura Ruby's Bone Gap and April Henry's Girl, Stolen will be drawn to...Armstrong's sinister tale." -SLJ

"The plot races towards a gripping climax. Fans of April Henry will relish this thriller." -Booklist

"Enough twists to keep any suspense fan happy, but it's the deeper theme of trying to disentangle oneself from the place society says you belong that resonates strongest." 
-Publishers Weekly










Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...