September 20, 2019

#BookReview: It Should Have Been You by Lynn Slaughter




Synopsis: A cyberstalked high-school advice columnist takes matters into her own hands to discover the secrets behind her twin sister's murder in this intense and compelling mystery thriller.
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s newspaper. She’s funny, feisty, and cares deeply about making a difference in people’s lives, but her own personal problems threaten to overwhelm her. Five months ago, her twin, Moura, was murdered. 

Soon threatening emails start to arrive at her staff inbox. Convinced that her email stalker blames Clara for her sister’s death and is out for revenge, she decides to undertake her own investigation. Can she solve the murder in time to save herself? 

This suspenseful page-turner about a complicated sibling relationship is perfect for fans of We Were Liars, Fangirl, I'll Give You the Sun, and Vanishing Girls. Secrets, lies, brilliantly crafted twists and turns, and a dual mystery will keep readers in suspense until the very last page. 

Although primarily a whodunit, this novel also focuses on important social themes high-school teens face. Lynn blends a page-turning mystery thriller with sweet romance and demonstrates the very real effects of grief, rivalry, sexuality, dating violence, and bullying on today's youth. Clara is believable, relatable, smart, snarky, brave, and conscientious. Her strong teen voice will resonate with a wide audience, and she is a perfect role model for teens who are dealing with similar social issues.





Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

About the Author: Lynn Slaughter has a passion for dance and music―from Frank Sinatra to Chopin―and her first book, While I Danced, was a finalist in the 2015 EPIC competitionin the Young Readers category. After a long career as a professional dancer, she earned her MFA in writing popular fiction from Seton Hill University. She and her husband live in Louisville, Kentucky. You can visit her at www.lynnslaughter.com and follow her on Twitter @lslaughter2.


Rating: 🌟🌟
My Review: This one can be summed up in a few words.  That it got more crazy as it went on, and ya you can probably guess that wasn't a good thing.  I loved the start of this one it was way creepy and you kind of already know that Carla didn't kill her twin sister, even though everyone else thinks she did, including the police.  This story was full of insta-love, weird characters, and just people really loving the evil twin (in a sense).  The story and plot just felt really messy and I am sad to say that this one just didn't work out for me. 







“Spine-chilling… .For teens who enjoy thrillers, mysteries, and romance.” ―School Library Journal 
"...Slaughter successfully highlights the dangers of abusive relationships; fans of the genre will find much to enjoy in this thriller." ―Publishers Weekly
“A tidily constructed murder mystery.” ―Booklist
“From the first sentence, through all of the twists and turns to the surprising ending, this book will hold you in its grasp and not let go.”
―V.M. Burns, author of The Plot is Murder

It Should Have Been You will keep you guessing right up until the final twists. Readers will relate to the teen heroine who must clear her name, protect herself, and come to terms with complicated family relationships. A compelling addition to the YA mystery pantheon.”
―Beth Fantaskey, author of Buzz Kill and Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side

“Gripping and relevant, It Should Have Been You captivates readers with its authentic voice and well-crafted mystery. At once innocent and wise, Clara is a protagonist worth rooting for as she searches for the truth about her sister’s death. Important issues like domestic abuse and survivor’s guilt are handled with a well-tuned sensitivity that is never dogmatic or depressing. A fast-paced, sometimes harrowing, ultimately satisfying story you won’t forget.”
―Jessica Freely, author of All the Colors of Love

“A compulsively readable mystery full of suspense and laced with romance, as well as an important warning for teen girls.”
―Christina Hoag, author of Girl on the Brink

It Should Have Been You takes readers on a compelling psychological journey of obsession and its effects. Readers will benefit from advice-columnist Clara’s girl-power attitude as they turn the pages to uncover the real villain. Issues of identity, fame, and artistic talent add depth to a compulsively readable mystery. Lynn Slaughter has written a winner!”
―Lee Tobin McClain, Ph.D., bestselling author of Sizzle

“To be a teen suspected of murder is bad enough. To be a twin suspected of the brutal slaying of your talented sister is the other side of alienation. Join Clara on her quest to find Moura’s killer and prove her innocence.”
―Barb Miller, author of The Impostors









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...