September 21, 2019

#BookReview: Something Like Gravity Amber Smith


Synopsis: For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor and Park, a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time—and how first love changes us all—from New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith.

Chris and Maia aren’t off to a great start.

A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters don’t fare much better. Chris’s good intentions backfire. Maia’s temper gets the best of her.

But they’re neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just can’t seem to stay away from each other.

The path forward isn’t easy. Chris has come out as transgender, but he’s still processing a frightening assault he survived the year before. Maia is grieving the loss of her older sister and trying to find her place in the world without her. Falling in love was the last thing on either of their minds.

But would it be so bad if it happened anyway?


Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

About the Author:  Amber Smith is the New York Times bestselling author of the young adult novels The Way I Used to Be and The Last to Let Go. An advocate for increased awareness of gendered violence, as well as LGBTQ equality, she writes in the hope that her books can help to foster change and spark dialogue surrounding these issues. She grew up in Buffalo, New York, and now lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, with her partner and their ever-growing family of rescued dogs and cats. You can find her online at AmberSmithAuthor.com.

Rating: 🌟🌟
My Review: After not enjoying this title I think it has come to the point that Amber Smith is just not the author for me.  It seems that all of her books have the same issue for me. Each one starts out with this shocking twist or realization or event. But once the actual story gets going it falls apart and becomes slow and stagnate.  This one had the same issue.  It started out with a bang and was great for the most part. But the middle and end of the story was just kind of meh.  The story and characters were ok at best. I couldn't connect with any of them and I felt like something was off.  


Overall, this is just not the author for me.  









"Amber Smith’s Something Like Gravity is a tender, beautifully told story of first love and first loss and how finding the right person at the right time can be very thing that saves us. You will love Chris and Maia from the very first page of this gorgeous novel and will miss them long after you've finished." Source: Julie Buxbaum, New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things

“A powerful and illuminating story about grief, identity and finding your true self. You will never forget Chris and Maia."  Source: Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl In Pieces

"With Something Like Gravity, Amber Smith again shows the heart and empathy that makes her one of young adult’s foremost storytellers. This is a vital and beautiful book." Author: Jeff Zentner, author of the William C. Morris Award winning and Carnegie Medal longlisted The Serpent King and Goodbye Days

"Personal trauma and mutual soul searching brings together a unique couple over the course of a single summer, as both are trying to find their place in the world following a life-changing experience.” Source: HuffPost Queer Voices

“This story is as beautiful as it is breathtaking.” Source: Buzzfeed

“[Amber Smith’s] third YA novel will give you all the feels.” Source: Charlotte Magazine

“Delicious. Complicated. Painful. Enlightening.” Source: Charlotte Observer

“A lovely story of first love, loss and identity. This is a wonderfully written book representing voices that are desperately needed in YA literature.” Source: Ms. Magazine

 * "This bittersweet story of first love and identity tugs at the heartstrings in all the right ways."  Source: VOYA, STARRED REVIEW

* “While sensitively tackling subjects of first love, acceptance and friendship, Smith expertly chronicles her characters’ twin journeys of grief and coming out, as well as what it takes to move on despite seemingly permanent damage.” Source: BookPage, STARRED REVIEW









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...