September 18, 2019

#BookReview: Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan


Synopsis: From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.


Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

About the Author: Annie Sullivan is an experienced author who loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling. She received her master's degree in creative writing from Butler University and went on to explore every single continent. For more information, visit anniesullivanauthor.wordpress.com.

Lora Brown is an in-demand narrator with a background in film and stage acting.
Rating: 🐯🐯
My Review: I really started out loving this little.  I did think it was pretty predictable from the start. As I guessed the twists before they event hinted at them.  The cover was not one I fell in love with as I felt that it was very simple.  With is book about a warrior princess I thought that it should have been way darker and way more empowering.  


The writing style was very simple and somewhat lack luster.  The pacing was good but the overall story and plot line just needed more to keep me reading. This is one of those titles that I found myself finding other things to do other than read. Because, I was pretty much bored. The romance which I saw coming and again the twists were all something that just could have been better.  I saw them a mile away and they just weren't all that good.  


Overall this one just lacked what I was looking for and didn't use enough mystery to keep me invested in the story.  I will of course check out Sullivan's other titles as they come out as I loved Touch of Gold! 


Go Into This One Knowing: Predictable, Lack Luster 







Sullivan (A Touch of Gold, 2018) retells Frank R. Stockton's short story 'The Lady, or the Tiger?,' expanding it into an exciting adventure that transports readers to a mythical kingdom filled with creatures and customs that will capture the interest of fantasy enthusiasts. Action, adventure, and a bit of romance blend well into a distinctive and exciting read. (Booklist)

TIGER QUEEN is an engrossing retelling of the short story, THE LADY, OR THE TIGER? that really takes it above and beyond... TIGER QUEEN is a gorgeous, lush YA fiction that will hold a lot of appeal for fans of THE REMNANT CHRONICLES, THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS, and THE WINNER'S CURSE. Highly recommend for anyone look for a beautifully crafted stand-alone book. (YA and Kids Book Central)









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...