October 29, 2019

#BookReview: The Chameleon with a Sword by B.L. Logan


Title: The Chameleon with a Sword
Author: B.L. Logan

Published:  October 1, 2019 
Publisher: TitanFolio
Format: Kindle Edition, 561 pages
Synopsis: Duro.

Protectors of the Day. Life. Loyalists.

A word that slices fear through sixteen-year-old Leena Niran the way her sword does enemies. A people who decided her destiny, but don’t even know she exists. 

Nox.

Protectors of the Night. Death. Traitors.

A word once signifying respect and honor in Prince Mordecai’s homeland. A people synonymous with betrayal because of him.

The Oculan.

The reason life exists peacefully. The sum of Day and Night—two ancient energy forces a king must keep in balance or risk blending life and death in a cataclysmic melee. A risk worth Leena’s life. 

Suddenly, a nomadic fencer finds herself wanted. By a government, a king, and a vengeful exiled prince seeking salvation for the illness killing his people. A cure flowing through Leena’s veins.

Leena’s safety becomes the duty of another protector, but her fate is her own. With a bounty on her head, Leena must decide what she’s willing to sacrifice to protect herself, her dreams, her family, her world. The choice will be deadly either way.

B.L. Logan’s cinematic YA fantasy debut introduces a lush and diverse world of magic, royalty, adventure and loyalty—perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Graceling and the Throne of Glass series.


Goodreads
Amazon

About the Author: B.L. Logan earned an M.S. with Honors from Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, a Master en Journalisme from Sciences Po, a B.A. in Global Studies from the University of California, Santa Barbara, and studied at the University of Cambridge, King's College.

In addition to reporting for Mechanical Engineering Magazine, she served as a teaching assistant in international science writing at The Earth Institute. Beyond writing and education, she is passionate about science, the arts, watching cookie decorating videos, and traveling.
Rating: ★★★
My Review: This fantasy/science fiction mix of a story was one that I am kind of torn about liking and not liking.  I think this is just one of those titles that you either love it or you don't.  I liked the story but a lot of it ended up being very confusing and others blew me away.  The dual POV worked well and I loved having the well rounded story.  I think overall that this one just needed a little more work.  At least for this reader.  




Go Into This One Knowing: Dual POV







This story has everything that I crave in a fantasy novel: an engaging plot, beautifully imagined worlds with rich traditions, mysterious magical abilities, a race-against-time journey with both narrow escapes and friendly encounters, secret identities, and, of course, excellent swordfights. I enjoyed this book so much and I cannot wait to read more. -H.A., Advanced Reader


The Chameleon with a Sword is a wonderful novel and coming of age story. It features Leena, a star fencer and bad-ass. What I love is how the novel alternates between Leena's story and that of the villain, Mordecai. Mordecai is not your typical villain. He is nuanced, with shades of empathy and complexity. This adds to the novel's depth and sense of reality--in spite of it being a fantastical world. The writing is compelling and funny and relatable. I loved the banter between Leena and her love interest, Aidan. I could see an entire book on them--and only them. Suki is another stand-out character. She's quirky and adds humor to even the darkest of scenarios. I wanted even more of her. I hope there's another novel soon--starring her. -L.H.S., Advanced Reader

From the Author

Join TitanFolio's Newsletter for:
  • Exclusives 
  • Freebies & Giveaways
  • New Releases & Updates
Sign up at: eepurl.com/gBTJZz


Connect with B.L. Logan & TitanFolio:
  • Website: titanfolio.com
  • B.L. Logan's Instagram: instagram.com/bllogan/
  • TitanFolio's Instagram: instagram.com/titanfolio/









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...