October 08, 2019

#BookReview: Day Zero (Day Zero Duology #1) by Kelly deVos


Synopsis: Don't miss the exhilarating new novel from the author of Fat Girl on a Plane , featuring a fierce, bold heroine who will fight for her family and do whatever it takes to survive. Fans of Susan Beth Pfeffer's Life As We Knew It series and Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave series will cheer for this fast-paced, near-future thrill ride.

If you're going through hell...keep going.


Seventeen-year-old coder Jinx Marshall grew up spending weekends drilling with her paranoid dad for a doomsday she’s sure will never come. She’s an expert on self-heating meal rations, Krav Maga and extracting water from a barrel cactus. Now that her parents are divorced, she’s ready to relax. Her big plans include making it to level 99 in her favorite MMORPG and spending the weekend with her new hunky stepbrother, Toby.

But all that disaster training comes in handy when an explosion traps her in a burning building. Stuck leading her headstrong stepsister, MacKenna, and her precocious little brother, Charles, to safety, Jinx gets them out alive only to discover the explosion is part of a pattern of violence erupting all over the country. Even worse, Jinx’s dad stands accused of triggering the chaos.

In a desperate attempt to evade paramilitary forces and vigilantes, Jinx and her siblings find Toby and make a break for Mexico. With seemingly the whole world working against them, they’ve got to get along and search for the truth about the attacks—and about each other. But if they can survive, will there be anything left worth surviving for?


Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

About the Author: Kelly deVos is from Gilbert, Arizona, where she lives with her high school sweetheart husband, amazing teen daughter and superhero dog. She holds a B.A. in Creative Writing from Arizona State University. When not reading or writing, Kelly can typically be found with a mocha in hand, bingeing the latest TV shows and adding to her ever-growing sticker collection.

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟
My Review: This thriller started out so well!! But as the story went on it suffered from a few things.  First it was a set up for book two which was kind of unneeded.  It could have been a stellar story on its own and then book two could have come back and finished the story at large.  We really didn't need a set up for that.  The other issue was that this is just one more title that really didn't need a romance. It felt shallow and just well not needed. I don't know why a lot of ya authors think that every story needs a love interest. Because, they don't. Girls and boys of today can stand on their own without falling head over heals. The last issue was the political sections of this title.  I wished they would have been woven a little better into the story.  As whenever they showed up it felt like it stopped the story and just focused on that one aspect.  It was almost like info dumping but in a different way I guess you could say.  The characters overall were great.  Although some of them felt all over the place. Like they weren't sure which side they were really on.  And I mean being teens I guess you could say that that made them feel real.  But I kept thinking that I wish these people would make up their minds.  


Overall, I think this one would work great for those who can overlook the issues.  I also think that if you are into predystopian reads that this one you might enjoy. 





"Day Zero is a fascinating, fast-paced thriller set in an all-too-believable near future. A riveting story full of twists and turns, a relatable, realistic heroine, and complex political action that leaves the reader thinking. Don't miss this memorable, refreshing book." -Adrianne Finlay, Author of Your One and Only 
"Gripping, bold, and infused with real heart, once again deVos delivers the kind of norm-bending, badass heroine teens need now more than ever." -Jessie Hilb, author of The Calculus of Change 
""A high-octane thrill ride through Jinx's evolution from a passive high schooler to a kick-ass political revolutionary bent on revenge and social change."-Laurie Forest, author of the Black Witch Chronicles 
"Day Zero is an ambitious, caffeine-infused buzz-ride! Jinx is an endearing heroine and her journey from passive teen to political revolutionary in a dangerous time is poignant and powerful."-Nancy Richardson Fischer, author of The Speed of Falling Objects 
"In this gripping tale of heart and adventure, deVos propels her characters into a breathless quest edged by thoughtful commentary on the nature of humanity. Day Zero is a book placed in a dystopian future, with true relevance to today."-Laura Taylor Namey, author of The Library of Lost Things









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...