October 16, 2019

#BookReview: The Good Luck Girls (The Good Luck Girls #1) by @cndwrites @TorTeen


Synopsis: Westworld meets The Handmaid's Tale in this stunning fantasy adventure from debut author Charlotte Nicole Davis.

Aster, the protector
Violet, the favorite
Tansy, the medic
Mallow, the fighter
Clementine, the catalyst

THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS

The country of Arketta calls them Good Luck Girls--they know their luck is anything but. Sold to a "welcome house" as children and branded with cursed markings. Trapped in a life they would never have chosen.

When Clementine accidentally murders a man, the girls risk a dangerous escape and harrowing journey to find freedom, justice, and revenge in a country that wants them to have none of those things. Pursued by Arketta's most vicious and powerful forces, both human and inhuman, their only hope lies in a bedtime story passed from one Good Luck Girl to another, a story that only the youngest or most desperate would ever believe.

It's going to take more than luck for them all to survive.


Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

About the Author: A graduate of The New School’s Writing for Children MFA program, CHARLOTTE NICOLE DAVIS loves comic book movies and books with maps in the front. She currently lives in Brooklyn with a cat with a crooked tail. The Good Luck Girls is her debut novel.

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
My Review: 
This story was one I will not soon forget!! I loved the fresh idea of the Favors and how the world was like the Wild West.  I really thought this one reminded me of the 90's movie Bad Girls and I would love to see this one on the big screen.  The only issue I had with this title was that on the cover you have this gorgeous POC on the cover of the title. However, in the story it is never mentioned what color skin or nationality (other than them being Dust something. IE. they had no shadows).  Although this didn't take away from the story at large I just felt like it was missing in passing at least as a descriptive on what these characters looked like. 

The story opened with us learning a little about this world that these girls have grown up in.  I think the author did a great job with giving us this information without it feeling like an info dump.  We also learn more as the story unfolds and I think it worked to weave a wonderful tale.    The pacing worked out well and the writing was simple but beautiful.  The mythology in this the story worked to create a wonderful world that felt like an old western, dystopian, fantasy novel and go figure it worked out as one of the best titles that I have read this year.  

The characters in this one were all well formed and each had their own personality.  With how this one ended I am excited to see where the next story takes us.  Will we get to see everyone returning or will we get pulled in one direction over another.  Although there are five characters in this one we really only get a few POVs and then the overall story.  Were are never really just in one other than the start.  But for the most part we get Aster's POV after the story gets going and it worked well. I never thought that it was overwhelming and well you guys know I love POVs when they are done well! 

Overall, this story was beautifully written with a creepy scary world and amazing strong women as characters.  The fight for freedom has never been tougher. 


Go Into This One Knowing: Prostitution, Slaves, Branding, Human Trafficking, Drug Use







“Don't underestimate the girls in the Arkettan welcome houses because you might just lose your life. Davis' The Good Luck Girls is a dust-filled, bloody fairytale set in a menacing world haunted with the reminder―the price of freedom is high, but it's worth fighting for at all costs. Rise up, teen readers!” ―Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles
“This one is a winner.”―Kirkus (starred review)
“This first installment in a new fantasy adventure is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows and Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale. ...Teen readers will devour this romp set in a fantastical Wild West–style world, filled with a diverse cast of strong female leads.” ―School Library Journal
“This dystopian debut is deeply connected to today’s social issues, and readers will feel that impact.” ―Booklist

“Davis creates institutions, systems, and power dynamics with real-world echoes, making the themes timely and resonant ” ―Publishers Weekly
“The gunslinging, hard-riding action of a classic Western is balanced against heavy but effective commentary on class and gender to make a story that is by turns heart pounding and thought-provoking.” ―Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...