November 01, 2019

#BookReview: Christmas Wishes and Mistletoe Kisses by @jhaleauthor @readforeverpub


Title: Christmas Wishes and Mistletoe Kisses
Author: Jenny Hale

Published:  October 30, 2018
Publisher: Forever
Pages: 368
Synopsis: SOON TO BE A HALLMARK MOVIE: fall in love with this sweet, heartfelt romance about the magic of Christmas and falling in love under the mistletoe, perfect for readers of Debbie Macomber, RaeAnne Thayne, and Maisey Yates!

An uplifting, beautiful story about never letting go of your dreams, the special magic of a family Christmas… and the rush of falling in love under the mistletoe. 

Single mother Abbey Fuller loves her family more than anything, and doesn’t regret for a moment having had to put her dreams of being an interior designer on hold. But with her son, Max, growing up, when a friend recommends her for a small design job she jumps at the chance. How hard can it be? 

Nick Sinclair needs his house decorated in time for his family’s festive visit – and money is no object. What he doesn’t need is to be distracted from his multi-million dollar business – even if it is Christmas. 

When Abbey pulls up to the huge Sinclair mansion, she has a feeling she might be out of her depth. And when she meets the gorgeous, brooding Nicholas Sinclair, she knows that she’s in real trouble… 

With the snow falling all around, can Abbey take the chance to make her dreams of being a designer come true? And can she help Nick to finally enjoy the magic of Christmas?


Goodreads
Amazon

About the Author: Jenny Hale is a USA Today bestselling author of romantic fiction. Her novels Coming Home for Christmas and Christmas Wishes and Mistletoe Kisses have been adapted for television on the Hallmark Channel. Her stories are chock-full of feel-good romance and overflowing with warm settings, great friends, and family. Grab a cup of coffee, settle in, and enjoy the fun!

Rating: 🎄🎄🎄🎄
My Review: This is the first title that I have read that was being turned into a Hallmark movie. (As far as I remember anyway). This one was very cute.  I am going to somewhat take apart the characters and story but I do want you to know that this was a light story made for Hallmark.  So these we know were going to end up with a HEA ending and its not going to have any sex in it or bad language and it might be a little religious sometimes (this one wasn't though like at all) .  So if you kind of go into it knowing those things you will be bettered prepared.  I loved this book and it was so cute!!  So here is my breakdown of the story and its characters.  


So lets start this one out by talking about the characters.  Them together was ok, some of their interactions seemed very well weird if you ask me.  But for the most part I fell in love with both of them.  I kind of wished that this wouldn't have been a Hallmark movie title because it self like this could have been much better if the romance could have gone further within the story.  So in some aspects it felt stilted.  

I will say that there were parts of it where Abby's internal monologue really irritated me.  She came off as a whinny at times.  For the most part I really did feel for her.  The situation of her boyfriend leaving her with a child sucks and she had a hard life getting her degree for nursing and providing for her son.  As a low income parent I felt for her.  I really wouldn't call Abby poor as all her bills were paid, it didn't seem like she was on welfare and although she couldn't buy her son everything on his Christmas list I think they were doing better than my family is right now. Abby had a heart of gold and I really enjoyed the parts of where she thought Nick was freaking CRAZY for spending so much money on stupid things. As well as the humor she had with her gramps and mom.  I can not wait to see how that all plays out on screen on the 26th.  

As for Nick, I have to say that he was a workaholic and spend far to much money on stupid crap.  I felt like I really wanted to scream at him during a lot of this title.  I hope that this year we have a hundred dollars to spend for presents for my girls this year.  So that kind of made me not like him just a smidge. He was so focused on keeping his father's business afloat and profitable that he was missing out on life.  I have to say that he reminded me a little of Christian Gray from 50 Shades but just a tad, a pinch, a dash.  Overall, as the story progressed I found myself both loving and hating him.  I am interested in finding out how the actor will portray him when the show comes out.  

Abby's son Max was adorable, her gramps was freaking awesome and I hope we get to see him a lot in the movie!  Her mom was there but not and really felt like a side character in the background much like Richard (Nicks houseman, house person? he was the one that answered the door).  That is pretty much all of the characters that we really get to see.  Other characters include Nick's sister whom I freaking loved.  I loved how although she was rich she wasn't snooty rich.  She loved Abby and Max and she was just so bright like her own sun.  

The story itself was one that was great for the holidays.  I loved all the snow and the setting of Richmond.  What Abby did to transform the house was perfect and I loved that when things didn't work out she got to work to do it on her own.  We don't really leave the small town where this story takes place.  Like most Hallmark movies/stories you stay where you start. 

Overall, if you are addicted to Hallmark Movies like I am then this one will work for you. If your looking for a Christmas story to get into the holidays then check this one out.  It will open your heart to this family and not let you go until the page! 

Go Into This One Knowing: No mentions of God, Cinderella Story, Single Mom, No Deaths 







This was a great Christmas story, romantic and clean and delightful. I absolutely loved it. This read was all about what Christmas and family mean!

This is one of the cutest Christmas stories I've ever read. It had so much heart & soul. This is a story is all about the importance of family and friends, keeping your promises, and following through on your dreams. I loved the characters. They were all so believable and so, so sweet. Little Max just stole my heart right from the very beginning. Then along comes little Thomas and my heart melted all over again.

Christmas Wishes and Mistletoe Kisses by Jenny Hale -- This is such a delightful and very well written story that has you feeling good about the characters throughout the story. I do have to say that some parts are a tad unbelievable if you consider the processes needed to perform some of the tasks that Abbey must do. But, this is the never-never-land of fiction where anything is possible. Having said that, this is the best "feel good" story that I have read this Christmas season. Ms. Hale gives vivid descriptions of the setting and the characters. The story draws you in from the beginning and keeps you wanting to continue reading to find out more interesting tidbits. I highly recommend it! I hope to read more such stories from Ms. Hale. It is a clean read (no sex) but I would not describe it as Christian/Faith/Spiritual. It is just a happy story. (I am grateful for the Audible version also.) Happy reading!









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...