November 14, 2019

#BookReview: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by @fkillsdarlings @HMHbooks


Synopsis: In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I've Loved Before.

Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming.

But as Edie dives into schoolwork and applying for college scholarships, she finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys who start vying for her attention. First there's Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend and first love. He’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there's Henry, the local bad boy and all-around player. He’s totally off limits, even if his kisses are chemically addictive.

Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help but get caught between them. Someone's heart is going to break. Now she just has to make sure it isn't hers.
 


Goodreads
Amazon

About the Author: Jacqueline Firkins is a playwright, screenwriter, and comics artist who’s been creating worlds and characters as a set and costume designer for the past twenty years. She’s on the fulltime faculty at the University of British Columbia where she also takes any writing class they’ll let her into. When not writing, drawing, or sewing, she can be found running by the ocean, listening to earnest love songs, and pretending her dog understands every word she says.

Twitter: JFkillsdarlings
Instagram: jfkillsdarlings

Rating: ★★★★★
My Review: This one reminded me of the Cinderella story. We have Edith who has lost her mom and her father is not in the picture.  She spend three years in the system to all of a sudden being taken out by her Aunt. I think that its weird that the foster care system would allow someone to basically adopt their relative after them being in the system for three years.  That has to be the only real issue I had with this one as it just felt off and not realistic.  


This title is over the top with tropes of falling in love, the cliches, beautiful people, etc.  But in a way that you want to find out what is going to happen and how it's all going to turn out.   If you're looking for a story with a lot of depth this might not be for you.  It does deal with the loss of a parent and how Edith is overcoming that loss.  But its overshadowed with her crush on Sebastian etc. 

I did like Edith, Henry, and Sebastian they were so adorable.  The rest of the cast were pretty evil in some ways but not in others.  This was a pretty good title for fans of Morgan Matson and those who are looking for a cute quick story.  This one didn't end like I thought it was going to so that was interesting.  



Go Into This One Knowing: Loss of a parent, somewhat instalove 

















Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...