December 15, 2019

#BookReview: Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger


Synopsis: Join two bug friends as they learn about the science of the world around them and the meaning of friendship in this early graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly!

Rhino-B is a brash, but sweet guy. Stag-B is a calm and scholarly adventurer. Together these two young beetles make up the Bug Boys, best friends who spend their time exploring the world of Bug Village and beyond, as well as their own - sometimes confusing and complicated - thoughts and feelings.

In their first adventure, the Bug Boys travel through spooky caves, work with a spider to found a library, save their town's popular honey supply from extinction, and even make friends with ferocious termites!

What challenges will these two earnest beetles face? Whatever it is, you can be sure that Rhino-B and Stag-B will face it together -- with the power of friendship behind them.

This title will be released on February 11, 2020.


Goodreads
Amazon


Biography


Laura Knetzger graduated from the School of Visual Arts in 2012. She started self-publishing her all-ages comic series Bug Boys when she was still a college student, and it found a following in the small press comics scene. In 2018 Bug Boys was nominated for an Ignatz Award for Best Series. Laura has also worked as a storyboard artist for Adventure Time and contributed art and co-wrote the indie visual novel Kimmy. She has a recurring comic about video games called Laura K Plays. She likes to write about friendship, feelings, nature, and the interconnectedness of little and big things. Laura lives in Seattle.


My Review: 

Anarece 3 stars 
This one wasn’t for me. I really didn’t care for the bugs and the story was very fast paced. A little to fast if you ask me.  I think this one would work better for kids that are under 8 years old.  The 7-10 age group I think goes a little high.  I do think that this one would work better for boys.  And those who like bugs. 


Christian 5 stars 
This graphic novel was a great adventure.  The story was easy to read and follow and the artwork was great.  I finished this book in about an hour and I really want to read it again.  The age group 7-10 was good but I think that older kids like my sister who is almost 13 would like this one to.  I really liked that at the end of the book there are pages to learn to draw the bug boys.  That was really cool!!  


Alexis 2 stars 

This one didn’t mesh with me at all. The story were way to short and the book was just too long.  I think this one would have been better by making the stories longer and having less pages.  I liked that the main characters were beatles that was something new.  This would be a great book for the classroom since the stories could be told over a few days.  






“A whimsical rumination on friendship and being present in the moment." —Kirkus Reviews









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...