December 01, 2019

#BookReview: The Wickerlight (The Wren Hunt #2) by @stonemadonna


Title: The Wickerlight (The Wren Hunt, #2)
Author: Mary Watson

Published:  November 26, 2019
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Pages: 416
Synopsis: It's been two months since Laila was found lifeless on Kilshamble village green, not a mark on her. 

Rumour says she died of an overdose. Or maybe it was suicide? The autopsy found nothing, but somebody must know what happened.

Now Laila's sister Zara is ready to pick up the trail. But retracing her sister's footsteps takes her to David, a Judge at the dangerous heart of an ancient magical feud. 


All too unwittingly, she begins to tread the same path that led her sister to the village green .

Mary Watson's sequel to The Wren Hunt is an eerie, magical thriller about a dead girl, her sister and the boy who can unlock the truth of what happened the night she died. Perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Emily Bain Murphy's The Disappearances
 


Goodreads
Amazon

About the Author: Mary Watson grew up in Cape Town, South Africa, where she worked as an art museum guide, library assistant, actress in children's musicals, front-of-house duty manager, and university lecturer. After publishing a short story collection and novel for adults, she fell in love with the brave girls in YA books, which inspired her to write her debut novel for teens, The Wren Hunt. She now lives on the west coast of Ireland with her husband and three young children. 
www.marywatsonbooks.com
@stonemadonna

Rating: ★★★★★
My Review: This story was very well written and had a great pace.  It was exciting from start to finish and the dual POV worked out very well.  This one will get your heart pumping as each chapter ends with a cliffhanger.  So fair warning you will want to murder this book by the time you have finished.  The mystery in this one was done so well.  Were given this slow reveal as the story progresses then it all comes together in a great story!  The story is told though mystery, humor, and a lot of action and those cliffhangers.  With a touch of romance and an epic story this was a hit!! I really hope that we get a third title in this series but it looks like that might just be a dream but I guess you never know.  I can not wait to see what else this author has planned. 


Go Into This One Knowing: Dual POV







“In her atmospheric followup to The Wren Hunt, Watson blends magical lore and rituals with mystery born of family secrets. . . . Immersive.” ―Booklist
“Reminiscent of Maggie Stiefvater's “Raven Cycle” . . . Watson brings a deep and visceral voice to old stories as well as an authentic and modern urban sensibility, making this a highly stylized read.” ―School Library Journal on THE WREN HUNT
“Watson's core characters . . . enchant. . . Feels at once modern and folkloric.” ―Publishers Weekly on THE WREN HUNT
“Lovely and haunting . . . [For] readers who loved the dark lore and lyrical language of Melissa Albert's The Hazel Wood.” ―Booklist on THE WREN HUNT
“Lush. . . [G]ood for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Holly Black.” ―Kirkus Reviews on THE WREN HUNT
“In this moody magical thriller, a girl with a secret identity and a talent that doubles as a curse has to outwit her enemies, survive her own damaging power, and follow her heart. For fans of . . . [t]he Shannara Chronicles.” ―Buzzfeed on THE WREN HUNT
“Wren's a feisty but vulnerable hero . . . Readers who enjoy the mix of modernity and mythology of Stiefvater's The Raven Cycle will find that same blend here.” ―BCCB on THE WREN HUNT
“[A] compelling take on druid mythology combined with a dash of family mystery.” ―Foreword Reviews on THE WREN HUNT
“A great read for those who enjoy fantasy, romance, and a little bit of mystery.” ―School Library Connection on THE WREN HUNT
The Wren Hunt rings with ancient, subtle magic, masterfully transmuted into words. A tale that gets into your bones.” ―Samantha Shannon, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of THE BONE SEASON, on THE WREN HUNT









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...