January 26, 2020

#BookReview: The Magic Misfits (The Magic Misfits #1) by Neil Patrick Harris @ActuallyNPH


Synopsis: From award-winning actor, Neil Patrick Harris, comes the magical first book in a new series with plenty of tricks up its sleeve. 

When street magician Carter runs away, he never expects to find friends and magic in a sleepy New England town. But like any good trick, things change instantly as greedy B.B. Bosso and his crew of crooked carnies arrive to steal anything and everything they can get their sticky fingers on. 

After a fateful encounter with the local purveyor of illusion, Dante Vernon, Carter teams up with five other like-minded illusionists. Together, using both teamwork and magic, they'll set out to save the town of Mineral Wells from Bosso's villainous clutches. These six Magic Misfits will soon discover adventure, friendship, and their own self-worth in this delightful new series. 

(Psst. Hey, you! Yes, you! Congratulations on reading this far. As a reward, I'll let you in on a little secret... This book isn't just a book. It's a treasure trove of secrets and ciphers and codes and even tricks. Keep your eyes peeled and you'll discover more than just a story--you'll learn how to make your own magic!)


Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: ★★★★
My Review: The beginning of this story did not grab me at all, it was really kind of boring.  I had a lot of struggle reading this one because I just wasn't meshing with the story early on. But, as it got going I really enjoyed all the magic tricks and the show.  I thought that this one would have been better for younger kids under 9.  There were a few words that at first I didn't know but I figured them out.  This was set in our world and it was just a show with music and magic.  I really loved the the guy that played the violin, I forget what his name was but he was really cool. The ending was one that murdered me because it was to be continued......BUT I have the book here so yay!!  


Overall, I think that this one could have been a little faster to start to grab my attention as a kid you have to go fast to grab us.  But I really did end up loving this one. 










Praise for The Magic Misfits:
A 2018 Goodreads Choice Awards Finalist for Middle Grade
A 2018-2019 New Hampshire Great Stone Face Book Award Nominee
Nominated for the 2020 Bluestem Award: Illinois' Grades 3-5 Readers' Choice Award
Nominated for the 2019-2020 Nebraska Golden Sower Award (Chapter Books)



"I read this book with excitement, delight, and the increasing suspicion that it was going to make me disappear."―Lemony Snicket, author of the bestselling series A Series of Unfortunate Events and All the Wrong Questions

"An earnest message about discovering the magic in the world and finding the family that suits you."―Kirkus Reviews

"The approachable length and lively, funny writing will ensure this book, the first in a series, performs its own vanishing act from shelves."―Booklist

"A rollicking ride of a magical tale that's wholesomely suspenseful, values friendship, and applauds courage."―School Library Journal

"[A] good choice for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch. With an emphasis on friendship and individuality, this fast-paced and clever series opener should have readers eager to check out future installments."―Publishers Weekly

"Fun...A worthy first volume."―BCCB

"Adventure, suspense, and excitement await these young magic misfits as they learn to trust one another and become friends."―School Library Connection










Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...