May 27, 2021

#BookReview: One Jar of Magic by Corey Ann Haydu






Synopsis: From the critically acclaimed author of Eventown comes a hopeful and empowering tale set in an enchanting world of magic and mysterious family secrets—perfect for fans of Anne Ursu, Rebecca Stead, and Wendy Mass.

Magic is like a dream. Delightful. Terrifying. Unreal.

Rose Alice Anders is Little Luck. Lucky to be born into the Anders family. Lucky to be just as special and magical as the most revered man in town—her father. The whole town has been waiting for Rose to turn twelve, when she can join them in their annual capturing of magic on New Year’s Day and become the person she was born to be.

But when that special day finally comes, Rose barely captures one tiny jar of magic. Now Rose’s dad won’t talk to her anymore and her friendships have gotten all twisted and wrong. So when Rose hears whispers that there are people who aren’t meant for magic at all, she begins to wonder if that’s who she belongs with.

Maybe if she’s away from all the magic, away from her dad telling her who she’s meant to be, who she has to be, Rose can begin to piece together what’s truly real in a world full of magic.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 5 Stars
My Review: One Jar of Magic was an adorable middle grade title that will get any child to read.  It was a quick read for me and I am 10!  I loved the characters and the story and the of course the magic.  I want to read more from this author soon because her books are so filled with new inspiring things and so much power and magic that it really takes me out of my life and into a new world. 








From School Library Journal

Gr 4-7-Expectation runs high for 12-year-old Rose Anders, whose father, Wendell, is the most successful magic-catcher in Belling Bright. His jars of trapped magic fill every closet. Rose, described as having blue eyes and brown curly hair, awaits her first magic-catching day with rising dread. Her friends Maddy, with blonde braids, and Ginger, whose appearance is not described, seem to be tiring of Rose's incessant proclamations of her heir apparent status, while at home her father's dodgy advice becomes overbearing, even as her brother Lyle and passive mother try to still its contentious waves. Magic-catching day does not go as planned for Rose, and she suffers an embarrassing letdown. Meeting a family who is "Not Meant for Magic" and dealing with her father's ominous mood swings, Rose confronts the effect magic has on her family and community. Haydu's work of magical realism evokes fraught emotions boiling just below the surface of Rose's "perfect" life. Her first-person narration begins with a confident arrogance that slowly dissipates along with her father's public geniality. The quirky joys a jar of magic can provide, like pink hair, rainbows, and bad weather, delicately balance against Rose's descent from popularity into a near pariah. Rose's visceral pain and her hard-earned agency will be deeply felt. While age appropriate, the story does contain possible triggers for domestic abuse survivors. VERDICT Readers who enjoy everyday magic, friendship stories, and family drama will be enchanted by this magic jar of a book.-Caitlin Augusta, Stratford Lib. Assoc., CTα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review

“[A] lyrical story of love and loss. The way the sisters fight and love in equal measure, as well as their basic need for one another, rings poignantly true in this touching and heartwarming story, which contains a ‘tiny bit of magic, right here in the real world.” -- Booklist (starred review)

"Prepare to be blown away! One Jar of Magic has the power to bruise the heart, broaden the mind--and somehow, leave an astonishing glow. A wholly original tale." -- Leslie Connor

“Rose’s visceral pain and her hard-earned agency will be deeply felt. ­Readers who enjoy everyday magic, friendship ­stories, and family drama will be enchanted by this magic jar of a book.” -- School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for Eventown: “A wonderful and inventive story about being a kid in an imperfect world—beautiful, mysterious, and deeply satisfying.” -- Rebecca Stead, author of When You Reach Me and Goodbye Stranger

Praise for The Someday Suitcase:
“Quietly superb prose...Haydu doesn’t romanticize illness, but she provides comfort through art, science, magic, love, and a purple suitcase.”

-- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A nuanced look at the girls’ friendship, emotions, and motivations. A transitional chapter book with unusual depth, good pacing, and a loving, supportive Latinx family. Libraries should find space on their shelves for this new series." -- Booklist

“[A] thought-provoking novel... [A] memorable and brave heroine.” -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Gently honest and emotionally astute." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Haydu’s story is a stunner. Its magic system is inventive and imaginative, and Rose and her world are drawn with care and compassion. A carefully crafted message of hope and the sometimes-painful beauty in forging an identity all your own.” -- Booklist (starred review)

“An emotionally complex and wonderfully told story.” -- School Library Journal (starred review)

"The worldbuilding and magic system are enchanting and expertly crafted. The characters are richly developed and emotionally complex. Affecting and unforgettable." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for Rules for Stealing Stars: “A well-crafted blend of realism and fantasy.”

-- School Library Journal (starred review)

"This series debut is a sweet tale about friendship, family, and being the new kid on the block... The line-drawing illustrations throughout give a glimpse of the street where the girls live... Put this book in the hands of kids who enjoy series like Annie Barrows’s “Ivy and Bean” or  Megan McDonald’s “Judy Moody.”" -- School Library Journal

“At once enchanting, heart-rending, and bittersweet.” -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

One Jar of Magic is a bittersweet tale of unmet expectations and complicated relationships, but most of all, it’s about finding magic inside yourself and trusting who you really are. A powerful and empowering story.” -- Yamile Saied Méndez, author of On These Magic Shores

"Taut underlying tension and a sympathetically flawed protagonist. Haydu deftly, and with startling clarity, portrays the presence and devastating effect of abuse on a family." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“In this moving, exquisitely written story, Corey Ann Haydu explores the thin line between science and magic within an intense bond of friendship.” -- Shelf Awareness (starred review)

Praise for Hand-Me-Down Magic #1: “Haydu, author of OCD Love Story and other compelling works, offers a pleasing setup in this first volume of a new series. Reading is swift and accessible, broken up by copious cheerful illustrations, and youngsters will long to share in the cousins’ idyllic family life while understanding the pitfalls of propinquity.”  -- Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Poignant and powerful. A heartbreaking story about the healing power of friendship amid human fragility.” -- Booklist (starred review)









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...