June 07, 2021

#BookReview: The Seventh Raven by @DavidElliott10






Synopsis: Best-selling author David Elliott examines the timeless themes of balance, transformation, and restoration in this evocative tale about a girl who will stop at nothing to reverse a curse that turned her seven brothers into ravens. 

And these are the sons
Of good Jack and good Jane
The eldest is Jack
And the next one is Jack
And the third one’s called Jack
And the fourth’s known as Jack
And the fifth says he’s Jack
And they call the sixth Jack
But the seventh’s not Jack
The seventh is Robyn

And this is his story

When Robyn and his brothers are turned into ravens through the work of an unlucky curse, a sister is their only hope to become human again. Though she’s never met her brothers, April will stop at nothing to restore their humanity. But what about Robyn, who always felt a greater affinity to the air than to the earth-bound lives of his family?

David Elliott’s latest novel in verse explores the unintended consequences of our actions, no matter our intentions, and is filled with powerful messages teased from a Grimms’ fairy tale. Stunning black-and-white illustrations throughout by Rovina Cai.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 4 Stars
My Review: This book was pretty interesting I hadn't heard of the Seven Raven tale before so this was all new to me.  I did however love this story and will have to read the org. story now as well.  I loved the different kinds of verse that was in this story. It made it very unique and made it feel like there was so much emotion. 




Go Into This One Knowing: Books in Verse 







From School Library Journal

Gr 6 Up-In an isolated, idyllic forest, Jack and his wife, Jane, live and work in a small cottage. They have seven sons, six of whom are strapping young lads with the same name as their father. The seventh son, Robyn, however, is too quiet, creative, and different to fit in with the family. Each night, Jack and his wife pray for a daughter, and one fateful day, their prayers are answered. Tragically, the girl is born gray and still, and in desperate pain and anger over his loss, Jack curses his sons, calling them no better than carrion birds-ravens. In a burst of magic, the boys transform on the spot, and Jack's daughter is brought to immediate, pink health. Although the six young Jacks are miserable in their new avian lives, Robyn finds freedom in flight. As their sister, April, grows up under a pall of smothered tragedy, she soon resolves to find her brothers and bring them home, but will Robyn ever wish to return? Elliott brings emotional depth and poignant verse to the Grimms' "The Seven Ravens." This beautifully evocative tale weaves different poetry forms to great effect, achieving short, intense bursts of emotion and deep, wandering musings on identity and fate. Cai's haunting illustrations add context and visual interest to many of the poems. Although the setting and events may belong in a fairy-tale, the core emotions of this work draw straight from reality. VERDICT A stirring selection for any fantasy collection, this book will appeal to fans of Emily Carroll and Phillip Pullman.-Catherine Cote, John Champe H.S., Aldie, VAα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review

★"Rich with evocative language.... Elliott (Voices) makes the propulsive mix of formal and concrete poetry and blank verse sparklingly accessible for teen readers, with repetitions and Cai’s (Elatsoe) inky illustrations weaving multiple narrators into a beautifully unified volume. Fans of lyrical retellings such as Malinda Lo’s Ash will find this bittersweet quest a warm welcome into myth and verse." –Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

★"Elliott brings emotional depth and poignant verse to the Grimms’ 'The Seven Ravens.' This beautifully evocative tale weaves different poetry forms to great effect, achieving short, intense bursts of emotion and deep, wandering musings on identity and fate. Cai’s haunting illustrations add context and visual interest to many of the poems. Although the setting and events may belong in a fairy-tale, the core emotions of this work draw straight from reality." –School Library Journal, STARRED review

"Elliott once again is a master at poetic form....Within the elegant construction is a simple story of best intentions that reap terrible consequences and a look at how we believe our wishes for others come from a place of altruism when it is more often selfishness." –The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"A skillful use of verse; moral conundrums and strange plot twists offer even stronger draws." –Kirkus

About the Author

David Elliott is the award-winning author of more than twenty-five books for young people, including the picture books Finn Throws a Fit!  and the New York Times best-selling And Here’s to You!. He is the author of the critically acclaimed verse novels, Bull, which received six starred reviews, and Voices: The Final Hours of Joan of Arc, which was shortlisted for The American Library in Paris Book Award and is the recipient of the Claudia Lewis Award for poetry. A native of OhioDavid now lives (and writes) in New Hampshire with his wife and their Dandie Dinmont terrier, Quiggy. Learn more about David by visiting davidelliottbooks.com.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...