July 04, 2021

#BookReview: Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss (Love, Life, and the List #2) by @kasiewest






Synopsis: Lacey Barnes has dreamed of being an actress for as long as she can remember. So when she gets the opportunity to star in a movie alongside one of Hollywood’s hottest actors, she doesn’t hesitate to accept the part.

But Lacey quickly learns that life in the spotlight isn’t as picture perfect as she imagined. She’s having trouble bonding with her costars, her father has hired the definition of a choir boy, Donavan Lake, to tutor her, and somewhere along the way she’s lost her acting mojo. And just when it seems like things couldn’t get any worse, it looks like someone on set is deliberately trying to sabotage her.

As Lacey’s world spins out of control, it feels like the only person she can count on—whether it’s helping her try to unravel the mystery of who is out to get her or snap her out of her acting funk—is Donavan. But what she doesn’t count on is this straight-laced boy becoming another distraction.

With her entire future riding on this movie, Lacey knows she can’t afford to get sidetracked by a crush. But for the first time in her life Lacey wonders if it’s true that the best stories really do happen when you go off script.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 5 Stars
My Review:  
This was an adorable romance story with a light theme.  I think readers will enjoy this one for the coming summer and really just fall in love with the characters. 







Review

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will enjoy this lighthearted, wholesome romantic comedy

-- "School Library Journal"

The mystery quickens the plot, offering a surprise whodunit element and a clever way for our leading lady to grow in her role...[A] fun, intriguing romance.

-- "Booklist" --This text refers to the audioCD edition.

About the Author

Kasie West lives with her family in central California, where the heat tries to kill her with its 115-degree stretches. She graduated from Fresno State University with a BA degree that has nothing to do with writing. Visit her online at www.kasiewest.com.

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up{amp}mdash;This companion to Love, Life, and the List is set in Los Angeles and written as a standalone novel with crossover characters. High school senior Lacey spends her days covered in elaborate zombie makeup on set, playing the love interest of famous heartthrob, Grant James. Grant is hot and he knows it, but he and Lacey lack chemistry on set of the campy horror film, Dancing Graves. Lacey begrudgingly and occasionally completes her schoolwork in between filming. When her overprotective father hires a tutor, she heeds his advice to buckle down and finish school in case acting isn't an option in her future. Donovan Lake, her easy-on-the-eyes tutor, at first seems uptight and boring, but as she spends more time with him, her math grade isn't the only thing progressing. Working on set brings Lacey into some unfamiliar social territory, but she manages to make new friends. When odd coincidences that could jeopardize Lacey's acting career keep occurring, she must decide who to trust and how to look out for her own happiness. Snippets of movie scripts are included between chapters, allowing readers to feel like they are on set with the characters. VERDICT Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will enjoy this lighthearted, wholesome romantic comedy.{amp}mdash;Laura Jones, Argos Community Schools, IN --This text refers to the hardcover edition.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...