August 06, 2021

#BookReview: We Can Be Heroes by @kyriemccauley






Synopsis: Kyrie McCauley, author of If These Wings Could Fly, delivers a powerful contemporary YA novel about a trio of girls fighting for each other in the aftermath of a school shooting and the lasting bonds of friendship. Perfect for fans of Laura Ruby and Mindy McGinnis.

“Welcome to Bell, proud home of Bell Firearms for two hundred years, and where five months ago, the teen heir to the Bell fortune took his father’s guns to school and killed his ex-girlfriend, Cassandra Queen.” —WE CAN BE HEROES PODCAST

Beck and Vivian never could stand each other, but they always tried their best for their mutual friend, Cassie. After the town moves on from Cassie’s murder too fast, Beck and Vivian finally find common ground: vengeance. They memorialize Cassie by secretly painting murals of her around town, a message to the world that Cassie won’t be forgotten. But Beck and Vivian are keeping secrets, like the third passenger riding in Beck’s VW bus with them—Cassie’s ghost.

When their murals catch the attention of a podcaster covering Cassie’s case, they become the catalyst for a debate that Bell Firearms can no longer ignore. With law enforcement closing in on them, Beck and Vivian hurry to give Cassie the closure she needs—by delivering justice to those responsible for her death.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 5 Stars
My Review: This book was so beautifully written. Each character was their own person and each one has a solid voice.  It made each chapter come alive on this journey.  That being said please make sure to check out the trigger warnings for this book because there are a lot of them. But even with those this book was so important and so worth the read. 




Go Into This One Knowing: Rape, School Shooting, Alcoholism, Domestic Violence, Cancer, PTSD







Review

"Powerful and unflinching, We Can Be Heroes is as fierce as the girls it portrays--and as unforgettable." -- Marieke Nijkamp, New York Times bestselling author of This Is Where It Ends

We Could Be Heroes is a vivid, striking novel about all-too-common violence in America, and the ways it shapes lives in a small town. Vivian, Beck, and Cassie’s grief, rage, tenacity and vengeance give us the strength to fight back against the gun violence and violence against women that we as society have come to see as unstoppable and inevitable. May this book be an awakening for many, and a call to action for all of us.” -- Katherine Locke, award-winning author of The Girl with the Red Balloon

Praise for If These Wings Could Fly: “A hauntingly intense tale thrumming with hope! A stunning, powerful debut.”
-- Tiffany D. Jackson, award-winning author of Monday's Not Coming

“A deep dive to illustrate the quiet strength of those in the darkest situations, If These Wings Could Fly is atmospheric, brilliantly drawn, and ultimately hopeful.” -- Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species

“Heartbreaking, important, and layered with so much hope, this book breathes magic into every chapter.”
-- Akemi Dawn Bowman, Morris Award Finalist and author of Starfish

“McCauley expertly blends the devastation of family with the invincibility of first love and sisterhood. This debut marks the start of a bold new talent!” -- Justin A. Reynolds, author of Opposite of Always

"[A] lyrical novel [with] authentic, intimate first-person narration... Strong writing that features some dreamily lovely turns of phrase... A powerful, thoughtful, and ultimately hopeful debut." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Poignant and powerful, this novel uses magical realism to examine choice in a difficult world. There are titles for teens that address the realities of dating violence, but it’s more difficult to find stories of family violence; in her debut, McCauley traverses the tender ground with grace." -- Booklist

"McCauley offers just a touch of magical realism here, layering a painfully honest exploration of domestic violence with a subtle eeriness... Her narration is elegant and thoughtful... a refreshing portrayal of two teens who negotiate their own challenges while acknowledging those of others." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A beautiful, powerful, and emotional story that tugs at your heartstrings as it empathetically and honestly steers you through the pain of domestic violence.” -- Farrah Penn, author of Twelve Steps to Normal


If These Wings Could Fly is a tense and emotional story that will in turns break your heart, make you swoon, and leave you feeling hopeful.” -- Elizabeth Eulberg, author of Past Perfect Life

“A careful, sharp exploration of rage, love, and what it means to balance on the knife edge between them.”
-- Rebecca Barrow, author of This Is What It Feels Like

"McCauley makes a moving debut with this hard-hitting novel set in a small, tightly knit town." -- Publishers Weekly

About the Author

Kyrie McCauley spent her childhood climbing trees in dresses and reading novels during class. She holds a Master of Science in Social Policy from the University of Pennsylvania, and has worked in advocacy and development for non-profit organizations. Kyrie lives near Philadelphia with her family, three rescue cats, and a dog that eats books and is never sorry.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...