December 13, 2021

#BookReview: Love Somebody by Rachel Roasek






Synopsis: A sparkling YA debut rom-com about a popular high-school girl, her ex-boyfriend-turned-best-friend, and the girl they both fall for--perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli or Casey McQuiston.



Sam Dickson is a charismatic actress, ambitious and popular with big plans for her future. Ros Shew is one of the smartest people in school--but she's a loner, and prefers to keep it that way. Then there's Christian Powell, the darling of the high school soccer team. He's not the best with communication, which is why he and Sam broke up after dating for six months; but he makes up for it by being genuine, effusive, and kind, which is why they're still best friends.

When Christian falls for Ros on first sight, their first interaction is a disaster, so he enlists Sam's help to get through to her. Sam, with motives of her own, agrees to coach Christian from the sidelines on how to soften Ros's notorious walls. But as Ros starts to suspect Christian is acting differently, and Sam starts to realize the complexity of her own feelings, their fragile relationships threaten to fall apart.

This fresh romantic comedy from debut author Rachel Roasek is a heartfelt story about falling in love--with a partner, with your friends, or just with yourself--and about how maybe, the bravest thing to do in the face of change is just love somebody.

This title will be released on January 11, 2022.

Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 2 Stars
My Review: This debut story with LGBT characters was ok to say the most.  I think maybe I just wasn't the right reader for this story.  But for me the plot/story didn't take off until around 60% and the characters just didn't click with me at all. 











Review

“Roasek dives in to the messy, confusing experience of queer adolescence with deep care, tenderness, and clarity. Teens are going to find a home in this book.” ―Dahlia Adler, author of Cool for the Summer

“A funny, heartfelt debut with an absolutely swoon-worthy love triangle. Roasek’s writing crackles with wit and authenticity, and Sam, Ros, and Christian will stay with you long after you’ve finished their story.” ―Nita Tyndall, award-winning author of Who I Was with Her

“The leads are relatable and realistically flawed, and their stories will appeal to fans of character-driven, slice-of-life relationship and coming-of-age novels. A promising debut about love in its many forms.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“Thought-provoking . . . An enjoyable romance.” ―Publishers Weekly

“This warm and fuzzy story sweetly deals in the complications that come with teenage love, of both the romantic and platonic variety.” ―Booklist

About the Author

Rachel Roasek received her BA from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro in 2017, with a degree in Drama and two minors in Sign Language and Anthropology. When not coming up with fictional worlds, she works as both a voice actor and stage technician. She currently lives in Raleigh with a few dying plants and her dog, Lupe.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...