January 14, 2022

#BookReview: Ruin and Rising (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy #3) by @Lbardugo

Synopsis: The capital has fallen.

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation's fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova's amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling's secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.


Rating: 5 Stars
My Review: So happy that I finally finished this series.  After reading book two and now book three. I have to say that the TV show is going to be epic!  I have to say that I did enjoy how this all ended and the journey to get there. However, I don't think that I would reread this series.  I started Six of Crows and just couldn't get into it at all.  Although I will say readers will super enjoy this series I just wasn't invested enough to continue the spin offs. 

From School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up—The Darkling has finally risen, and only Alina Starkov has the power to free Ravka from his evil influence. But with her powers depleted, her best friend injured and broken, and boyfriend Mal at odds with her decisions, Alina knows her odds of finding the elusive firebird are stacked against her. As Alina seeks out the firebird amplifier that will give her the power she needs to defeat The Darkling, she learns that her ties to him may be too great for her to resist. Readers are advised to read—or even reread—the first two books before delving into this conclusion to the trilogy, as there is little backstory to remind readers what transpired in the first two books. Once again, Bardugo is a master at building an action-packed fantasy with extraordinary world-building and complex characters. Though they try to do the right thing, the characters are perfectly imperfect; they question themselves, take risks, and make plenty of mistakes. While The Darkling is a little too similar to Harry Potter's Voldemort, he is still a delicious combination of evil, cunning, and manipulation. Fans of the first two books will not be disappointed, especially with the reappearance of charismatic Nikolai/Sturmhond. Already optioned for a movie, this trilogy is a must for libraries serving teens.—Leigh Collazo, Ed Willkie Middle School, Fort Worth, TX  --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

From Booklist

In the concluding volume of the Grisha Trilogy, Alina, chafing at the Apparat’s enforced protection in the underground White Cathedral, decides it is past time to break free and seek the Fire Bird, the last of the three amplifiers of her power. Battling across a land ravaged by the war with the Darkling, Alina’s band is rescued by Prince Nikolai and taken to his hidden headquarters, where the group of allies plans for the dangerous journey into the Fold. There, Alina must reconcile her country’s need for her to be Nikolai’s queen with giving up her lifelong love for her childhood friend Mal. A psychic connection with the Darkling heightens the tension as they struggle for control of Ravka. An intriguing plot twist adds an unexpected new element, requiring an unthinkable sacrifice. Readers won’t be able to turn the pages fast enough to the conclusion that will generate much discussion. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Since the first title in the trilogy, Shadow and Bone (2012), hit the New York Times best-seller list—and film rights were sold—this series has been big news. Top-level marketing plans will ensure it stays that way. Grades 8-12. --Lynn Rutan  --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 

Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 


Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...