May 17, 2022

#BookReview: The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by @NaminaForna






Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in fear and anticipation of the blood ceremony that will determine whether she will become a member of her village. Already different from everyone else because of her unnatural intuition, Deka prays for red blood so she can finally feel like she belongs.

But on the day of the ceremony, her blood runs gold, the color of impurity--and Deka knows she will face a consequence worse than death.

Then a mysterious woman comes to her with a choice: stay in the village and submit to her fate, or leave to fight for the emperor in an army of girls just like her. They are called alaki--near-immortals with rare gifts. And they are the only ones who can stop the empire's greatest threat.

Knowing the dangers that lie ahead yet yearning for acceptance, Deka decides to leave the only life she's ever known. But as she journeys to the capital to train for the biggest battle of her life, she will discover that the great walled city holds many surprises. Nothing and no one are quite what they seem to be--not even Deka herself.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 4 Stars
My Review: This was a pretty quick read that did not feel like 400 pages.  I will say that this was fairly simple in it's writing however, this story dealt with some very heavy topics. Such as a rape off-page and child abuse to name a few. It was pretty gory for a ya book but that just made me love it more since it was darker than I was expecting.  Which worked out for this story.  Parts that I didn't care for was some of the dialogue was cheese and didn't fit the feel of the story.  I didn't feel as connected with the characters as I was hoping for.  Overall, it wasn't a bad book it was a wonderful read and I think I will check out book two. 











Review

“Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA fantasy.” —Refinery 29 

“Fans of 
Children of Blood and BoneMulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one.” —BuzzFeed

“The girls are powerful, the danger is real, and the characters are engaging and diverse. Forna has accomplished something really special here, equal parts subversive and fun.” —
Tor 

“Namina Forna introduces readers to an intricate, West African-inspired fantasy world.”—
POPSUGAR

“Total book candy for fans of Tomi Ayedemi's
 Children of Blood and Bone.” —PureWow

"A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold, 
The Gilded Ones lifts the veil of violent patriarchy and burns the idea of purity to the ground. Must read!" —Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times Bestselling author of The Belles

“Haunting, brutal, and oh-so-relevant. This book will suck you into a world where girls bleed gold, magic fills the air, and the real monsters hide behind words instead of claws.” —Roseanne A. Brown, 
New York Times bestselling author of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

“An enthralling debut. 
The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful." —Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval
 
The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks Forna as a debut to watch.” —Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken 

"Phenomenal and extraordinary! Forna's breathtaking use of language depicts a thrilling journey through an epic world, rife with danger and deception, as an obedient girl survives the patriarchy and becomes a warrior. Unquestionably, the best fantasy of 2021." —Kim Johnson, author of 
This is My America

“An epic new fantasy with heart-stopping stakes and a fierce, persevering hero, 
The Gilded Ones is a dazzling and powerful debut.” —Elizabeth Lim, bestselling author of Spin the Dawn

“A poignant examination of patriarchal oppression that ensnares its reader and doesn’t let go. With a compelling main character and fresh magic system, it takes you on a journey of self-discovery through a fantastically built world with a burning mystery at its heart.” —Kalyn Josephson, author of 
The Storm Crow

“While elements of action and social justice are strong, there is also mystery . . . readers will find themselves awestruck with satisfying revelation, leaving both a clean ending and desire for more.”
Booklist, starred review

“Female-led YA fantasy is an overcrowded genre, but Namina Forna brings a fresh perspective in her stormingly good debut . . . Action combines with an intense feminist story of sisterhood, where strength is found in female friendships and alliances.” —
The Guardian

“Brutal, brilliant, and ultimately hopeful, 
The Gilded Ones takes readers on
a stunning sci-fi fantasy ride.” —
Nerdist

“Formidable heroines and a thoughtful feminist mythology distinguish debut author Forna’s West Africa–inspired fantasy trilogy launch. Abundant action drives the pace, while a nuanced plot advocates social change by illustrating the myriad ways in which society cages and commodifies women.” —
Publishers Weekly

“All of the alaki girls have realistic and moving trauma as a result of actions wreaked on them both as human women and alaki, and strong female friendships stand at the forefront of this novel that will have readers thinking about it long after the last page.” —
The Bulletin

About the Author

Namina Forna is the New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Ones series. She has a MFA in film and TV production from USC School of Cinematic Arts and a BA from Spelman College. Namina now works as a screenwriter in LA and loves telling stories with fierce female leads. Visit her on twitter at @NaminaForna and on Instagram at @namina.forna.  --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...