May 18, 2022

#BookReview: The Merciless Ones (Deathless #2 ) by @NaminaForna






Synopsis: Fans of The Gilded Ones and Children of Blood and Bone will love the second book in an epic fantasy series about a girl who is the key to saving the empire--or its greatest threat.

It's been six months since Deka has freed the goddesses and discovered who she really is. There are now wars waging across the kingdom. Otereans now think jatu are traitors to the nation. Deka is called a monster.

But the real battle has only just begun and Deka must lead the charge. Deka is tasked with freeing the rest of the goddesses. Only as she begins to free them, she begins to see a strange symbol everywhere in places of worship and worn on armor. There's something unnatural about that symbol; just looking at it makes Deka lose her senses. Even worse, it seems to repel her powers. She can't command or communicate with the new deathshrieks. In fact, she can't even understand them when they speak.

Deka knows freeing the goddesses is just the beginning. She can tell whatever dark force out is powerful and there is something sinister out there threatening the kingdom connected to that symbol--something merciless--that her army will need to stop before humanity crumbles. But Deka's powers are only getting stronger...and her strongest weapon could be herself.

This title will be released on May 31, 2022.

Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 4 Stars
My Review: A solid 4 stars for this follow up to The Gilded Ones. I think this one was much better than book one. I felt more for the characters and I felt a real connection to the story.  Action and shocking events await the reader. 











Review

"This action-packed sequel is even more thrilling than the first."—Buzzfeed

"Catch up now before Forna's planned trilogy is turned into the next major movie franchise."—
E! Online

"The second installment in Namina Forma’s West African-inspired fantasy series, this follow-up to 
The Gilded Ones doubles down on what made its predecessor so good: The rich, thoroughly lived-in world building full of details that are so unlike almost everything else in this genre space."—Paste

* "This book shimmers like gold. Add it to your library shelves to dazzle voracious readers."—
School Library Journal, starred review

Praise for 
The Gilded Ones

“Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA fantasy.” —
Refinery 29

“Fans of 
Children of Blood and BoneMulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one.” —BuzzFeed

“The girls are powerful, the danger is real, and the characters are engaging and diverse. Forna has accomplished something really special here, equal parts subversive and fun.” —
Tor

“Namina Forna introduces readers to an intricate, West African-inspired fantasy world.”—
POPSUGAR

“Total book candy for fans of Tomi Ayedemi's Children of Blood and Bone.” —
PureWow

"A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold, 
The Gilded Ones lifts the veil of violent patriarchy and burns the idea of purity to the ground. Must read!" —Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times Bestselling author of The Belles

“Haunting, brutal, and oh-so-relevant. This book will suck you into a world where girls bleed gold, magic fills the air, and the real monsters hide behind words instead of claws.” —Roseanne A. Brown, 
New York Times bestselling author of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

“An enthralling debut. 
The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful." —Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval
 
The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks Forna as a debut to watch.” —Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

"Phenomenal and extraordinary! Forna's breathtaking use of language depicts a thrilling journey through an epic world, rife with danger and deception, as an obedient girl survives the patriarchy and becomes a warrior. Unquestionably, the best fantasy of 2021." —Kim Johnson, author of 
This is My America

“An epic new fantasy with heart-stopping stakes and a fierce, persevering hero, 
The Gilded Ones is a dazzling and powerful debut.” —Elizabeth Lim, bestselling author of Spin the Dawn

“A poignant examination of patriarchal oppression that ensnares its reader and doesn’t let go. With a compelling main character and fresh magic system, it takes you on a journey of self-discovery through a fantastically built world with a burning mystery at its heart.” —Kalyn Josephson, author of 
The Storm Crow

“While elements of action and social justice are strong, there is also mystery . . . readers will find themselves awestruck with satisfying revelation, leaving both a clean ending and desire for more.”
Booklist, starred review









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...