May 24, 2022

#BookReview: The Nature of Witches by Rachel Griffin






Synopsis: For centuries, witches have maintained the climate, their power from the sun peaking in the season of their birth. But now their control is faltering as the atmosphere becomes more erratic. All hope lies with Clara, an Everwitch whose rare magic is tied to every season.

In Autumn, Clara wants nothing to do with her power. It's wild and volatile, and the price of her magic―losing the ones she loves―is too high, despite the need to control the increasingly dangerous weather.

In Winter, the world is on the precipice of disaster. Fires burn, storms rage, and Clara accepts that she's the only one who can make a difference.

In Spring, she falls for Sang, the witch training her. As her magic grows, so do her feelings, until she's terrified Sang will be the next one she loses.

In Summer, Clara must choose between her power and her happiness, her duty and the people she loves... before she loses Sang, her magic, and thrusts the world into chaos.

Practical Magic meets Twister in this debut contemporary fantasy standalone about heartbreaking power, the terror of our collapsing atmosphere, and the ways we unknowingly change our fate.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 3 Stars
My Review: Although the pacing of this one was a little off at times it was still worth the read.  I love books about witches and this one was very interesting on how the author did the witches powers.  I loved the feel of the story and the changing seasons.  











From School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up-Clara is the first Everwitch in more than a century. With a drastically changing climate, the world relies on witches to correct extreme weather events wreaking havoc on the Earth. With more witches becoming depleted from having to use their magic during their off-seasons, everyone is relying on Clara, who is the only witch with the power of all four seasons. Much to her teachers' chagrin, she is afraid to fully tap into her power because of three separate accidents where her uncontrolled powers killed her parents, best friend, and teacher. With the stakes higher than ever, the school where she trains assigns Sang, a spring witch with a calming power, to train Clara to control her powers and help save the world. The intriguing premise is fresh and original, and the worldbuilding is vivid and charming. Each of the characters is flawed, well-defined, and at times predictable. The climax is somewhat bogged down by a romantic conflict that feels unnecessary, but overall offers a satisfying journey for readers. Clara's ethnicity isn't stated and Sang is Asian. VERDICT This standalone novel ties fantastical elements, LGBTQIA themes, and climate change together into one neat package that will leave readers satisfied.-Candyce Pruitt-Goddard, formerly at Sno-Isle Libraries, Marysville, WAα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.  --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Review

"The Nature of Witches is unlike anything I've read before. With its wholly original take on witches, thought-provoking commentary on climate change, and a swoony romance I would die for, Griffin has crafted a magnificent debut that will have readers on the edge of their seats. To put it simply―I'm obsessed with this book" - Adalyn Grace, NYT bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth



"The Nature of Witches is a timely, thoughtful tale of the responsibilities we have to our planet and to one another. Griffin's well-developed world building and complex main character make for a read that will resonate deeply." - Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray duology



"Readers will happily dive into Clara's magical realm." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books



"I could have stayed lost in the pages and magic of The Nature of Witches forever. Griffin's lush prose and evocative imagery adorns and compliments the thoughtfully designed world, and the well-drawn characters triumphantly carry the story from beginning to end. A stunning and timely debut" - Isabel Ibañez, author of Woven in Moonlight and Written in Starlight



"Seasonal magic abounds in this addictively thought-provoking tale of love, loss and self-identity" - Dawn Kurtagich, award-winning author of The Dead House



"In her debut, Griffin ties the story of a witch learning her strength to the raw power of nature and places it in a world decimated by climate change. It's new, different, and well worth a read. " - Booklist



"A fascinating blend of climate fiction, fantasy, boarding school novel and romance... Exciting and immersive." - BookPage



""Vibrant and magical, THE NATURE OF WITCHES is an achingly beautiful exploration of love and hope perfect for fans of Shea Ernshaw and Taylor Swift's Folklore. This book is a ray of sunshine." - Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars



"Fresh and original... This standalone novel ties fantastical elements, LGBTQIA themes, and climate change together into one neat package that will leave readers ­satisfied" - School Library Journal



"A refreshing take on witches...imaginative, romantic and inspiring." - Shelf Awareness



"The Nature of Witches is a love letter to the earth. This lush, atmospheric book charmed me with its magic system, captured my heart with its swoony romance, and stole my breath with its gorgeous words. I want to wallpaper my home with Rachel Griffin's sentences" - Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow



"Griffin's emotional forthrightness makes this narrative accessible to younger YA readers, who will relish the sweet, supportive relationships tenderly interlacing with nature's rhythms." - Publishers Weekly



"The forces of nature and magic blend perfectly in this masterfully told story. I couldn't love this book more." - Shea Ernshaw, New York TImes bestselling author of THE WICKED DEEP and WINTERWOOD

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...