August 16, 2015

#Review of The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan

A lyrical and moving debut in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood, introducing an original and commanding new voice in fiction

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, sending the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ("landlockers") and those who float on the sea ("damplings"), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives--offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future. 

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.
 About the Author
Kirsty Logan is a writer, performer, literary editor, writing mentor and book reviewer. Her first book, The Rental Heart & Other Fairytales, won the Scott Prize and was longlisted for the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award. She regularly performs her stories at events and festivals throughout the world. She lives in Glasgow with her fiancee and their rescue puppy. www.kirstylogan.com @kirstylogan




I enjoyed the story, but felt that there was something missing that allowed me to feel connected to the story and it's characters. Author Kristy Logan's writing is beautifully done, crafted and unique to set apart a world left in post apocalyptic setting where most of the earth is surrounded by water, left with only small islands and land, the characters are set apart in two divided groups, those who live with the water and those on land. Though the book didn't hold and snag my attention as much as I had hoped, I do feel that it was very well written and would entice any readers looking to become lost in a world that isn't like their own.












"All opinions are 100% honest and my own." 














 Disclaimer: Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. If you can not see the link above you will need to turn off your spam blocker. Buying via these above links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. This money gets used to buy items for giveaways.




https://www.facebook.com/CrossroadReview

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...