January 12, 2020

#BookReview: Winter Dark (The Winter Series, #1) by Alex Callister


Synopsis: The #1 Bestselling Audible 2019 Thriller of the Year 
'There is a new kid on the block – the love child of Jack Reacher and Lisbeth Salander.' Independent 

A girl with wide brown eyes looks into the camera. Below her picture, a clock ticks down. Cold traces the back of my neck, pricks my hairline. I will find you, I whisper

It has been ten years since Winter – a headstrong loner with a broken past – was pulled off a mountain by special forces with the aim of turning her into the Secret Service’s most effective field agent. Now, she has just two weeks to bring down the head of a formidable criminal organisation, Alek Konstantin, before an innocent girl is murdered by a twisted killer in front of an online audience of millions

Going deep undercover disguised as a paid assassin – alias Snow White – Winter’s aim is to infiltrate Konstantin’s inner circle. Calculating, charismatic and totally in control, he holds the girl’s fate in his hands. But every time Winter gets close to him, he melts away. He’s like a shadow, and yet he knows things about Winter – dark secrets she’s never told anyone. Who is he, and how can she reach him in time to save the girl? 

Then Winter finds the body of a man from her past, stuffed in a dumpster with a bullet through his forehead, and things begin to fall into place. But with the girl’s death growing closer with every tick of the clock, and Winter’s protective shell starting to crack, does she have what it takes to bring down Konstantin before the clock hits zero? 

Impossible to put down, Winter Dark is an action-packed and twisty read with a heroine you won’t forget. Perfect for fans of Lee Child, Sandra Brown and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Please note: this book contains scenes of a sexual nature. 


Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: ★★★
My Review: This book was like a John Wick gender swap! Don't worry they don't kill anyones dog though.  I did have issues keeping interested in it.  I kept getting distracted by other things going on and really didn't feel that urge to come back to the story.  I'm not really sure why I didn't feel the need to come back to read this fully.  I am thinking that it had to deal with the pacing. I felt like I had read for hours but when I checked the % I was barely though any of it.  I think that really was my issue that this book was just so thick that the 352 pages felt more like 800. 


I loved the characters and their dynamics and relationships.  The sexy parts were done well and I didn't feel like I was going to crack up laughing.  I do think that I might check out the next title but we'll have to see.  



Go Into This One Knowing: Felt EXTREMELY long







What readers are saying about Winter Dark:  
I loved it. Intense and filled with twists and turns. Just when you think you know what is going to happen next, Winter surprises you… I cannot wait for the next instalment!’ Goodreads reviewer 

‘Now there is a new kid on the block, the love-child of Jack Reacher and Lisbeth Salander… She can out-punch Bourne and out-pull Bond.’ Independent 

I am in heaven. Female assassins all around… Awesome. Ready for the next instalment.’ Goodreads reviewer 

I LOVED this book… It’s a great, action-packed book and I loved Winter.’ Goodreads reviewer









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...