April 22, 2020

#BookReview: All the Pretty Things by Emily Arsenault






Synopsis: For fans of Sadie and The Cheerleaders comes an all new thriller about a boy who turns up dead under suspicious circumstances and the one girl who may be the key to solving the mystery of his untimely death.

For Ivy, summer means roller-coaster season, spinning cotton candy at the Fabuland amusement park, and hanging out with her best friend, Morgan. But this summer is different.

One morning, Morgan finds a dead body. It's their former classmate and coworker Ethan. To make matters worse, Morgan is taken to a hospital psych ward only days later, and she's not saying much--not even to Ivy.

The police claim that Ethan simply took a bad fall, but Ivy isn't convinced and realizes it's up to her to get answers. What she finds is unsettling--it's clear that some people aren't being honest about Ethan's last night at Fabuland. Including Morgan. And the more secrets Ivy uncovers, the closer she gets to unraveling dark truths that will change her life forever.


Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: ★★
My Review: I wanted to love this one but this one just didn't work out for me at all.  This one sounded so promising but it lacked anything I was looking for.  You can pretty much figure out who the baddie is within the first three chapters and I just really lost interested.  




“A dark and timely thriller that explores the messy bonds of friendship and family. It kept me guessing until its satisfying, heartbreaking conclusion.” 
—Amelia Brunskill, author of The Window  

All the Pretty Things is a skillfully plotted mystery, bursting with the glare and feverish energy of its summer amusement park setting. The atmosphere creeps up on you, wraps you up, and transports you to Fabuland with Ivy, where you’ll discover that among the roller-coasters and cotton-candy stalls, dark secrets await.” 
—Holly Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder
"Taking turns right up to the end...this is more than a thriller, filled with mystery and intrigue. It also speaks to the complexity and internalized struggle of guilt, loss, and loving someone you can’t trust."-SLJ 

"Atmospheric,...the dark treatment of a unique setting will be enough to intrigue readers looking for something in the vein of Courtney Summers' Sadie."-Booklist









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...