April 29, 2021

#BookReview: The Stolen Kingdom by Jillian Boehme






Synopsis: For a hundred years, the once-prosperous kingdom of Perin Faye has suffered under the rule of the greedy and power-hungry Thungrave kings. Maralyth Graylaern, a vintner's daughter, has no idea her hidden magical power is proof of a secret bloodline and claim to the throne. Alac Thungrave, the king’s second son, has always been uncomfortable with his position as the spare heir—and the dark, stolen magic that comes with ruling.

When Maralyth becomes embroiled in a plot to murder the royal family and seize the throne, a cat-and-mouse chase ensues in an adventure of dark magic, court intrigue, and forbidden love.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 💫
My Review:  I want to say that this book was freaking amazing. But sadly for me it was not. I loved this authors other story Stormrise but this one just fell very flat for me.  I ended up DNFing it around 20 pages in.  I was bored and the story just didn't grip me at all. I didn't care about the characters and I just couldn't force myself to read any further. 




From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up-Seventeen-year-old Maralyth has grown up assisting her poppa and older brother on the family vineyard, keeping secret the magic she uses to grow the grapes to perfection. When she was young her mother found her using magic and forbade her to use it. Maralyth doesn't know where the magic comes from, and after her mother's passing no one knows of her gift. This proves to be untrue when she's kidnapped by a vineyard worker and spy for Lord Ogden Nelgareth who wants to use her to take back the kingdom of Perin Faye. Alac, second son of the King, has always feared the stolen magic that passes through the kings in his family and turns them cruel. He can't help being drawn to the magic as he learns his father's life is coming to an end, and Alac wonders if magic can be used for good instead of fear. Told in a dual narrative, this fantasy depicts different aspects of society and delves into what it means to be a good ruler. The plot takes off once the two protagonists meet and wonder what they can reveal as they slowly fall for one another. Well-drawn characters will have readers rooting for them both, even as they come into conflict. Meticulous world-building and a fleshed-out history produce a rich world that will be hard to leave behind. Characters' skin tones aren't described. VERDICT A thought-provoking tale on challenging the status quo on your own terms and going after your dreams; sure to be popular with all teens.-Rebecca Greer, Hillsborough Cty. P.L. Coop., FLα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. --This text refers to the hardcoveredition.

About the Author

JILLIAN BOEHME is the author of Stormrise and is known to the online writing community as Authoress, hostess of Miss Snark’s First Victim, a blog for aspiring authors. In real life, she holds a degree in Music Education, sings with the Nashville Symphony Chorus, and homeschools her remaining youngster-at-home. She’s still crazy in love with her husband of more than thirty years and is happy to be surrounded by family and friends amid the rolling knolls of Middle Tennessee. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Review

“This exciting new epic is more than a fight for power; it’s the fight for empowerment, independence, freedom from oppression, and the birthright of a throne.”―Booklist

“Meticulous world-building and a fleshed-out history produce a rich world that will be hard to leave behind. A thought-provoking tale on challenging the status quo on your own terms and going after your dreams; sure to be popular with all teens.”―School Library Journal

The Stolen Kingdom swept me into an intricate world of extraordinary magic and lively characters, carrying me along to the end before I could catch my breath. I can't wait for more from Jillian Boehme.”―Erin Beaty, author of The Traitor's Circle Trilogy

Praise for Stormrise

“A bold girl, a kingdom under attack, magic everywhere―I devoured it in one sitting! This book is one wild ride!” ―Tamora Pierce

“Stand aside, Daenerys Targaryen. Stormrise is a gorgeous, non-stop adventure that kept me turning the pages well into the night!” ―Sarah Ahiers

"Boehme is a superb storyteller, masterfully combining elements of fantasy, love, loyalty to family, integrity, and sacrifice for the greater good. And did I mention dragons? I want more!" ―Dorothy Dreyer

"Captivating world-building and fantastical creatures . . . This lush, epic fantasy filled with magic and dragons will circulate well among fans of Tamora Pierce and J.R.R. Tolkien." ―School Library Journal

"Debut author Boehme makes the story exciting: The world is well thought out, and the dragons are distinctive, with clear rules for magic that will draw readers in." ―Kirkus Reviews

"Boehme’s debut, which borrows from Twelfth Night, is an adventure perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce. A good fit for any collection." ―Booklist

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...