December 31, 2021

#BookReview: What Kind of Girl by @AlyssaSheinmel






Synopsis: "Both timely and timeless, a powerful exploration of abuse in its many forms, as well as the strength it takes to rise up and speak your truth."—AMBER SMITH, New York Timesbestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes an unflinching exploration of the labels society puts on girls and women—and the strength it takes to rise above it all to claim your worth and declare your truth.

The girls at North Bay Academy are taking sides. 

It all started when Mike Parker's girlfriend showed up with a bruise on her face. Or, more specifically, when she walked into the principal's office and said Mike hit her. But her classmates have questions. Why did she go to the principal and not the police? Why did she stay with Mike if he was hurting her? Obviously, if it's true, Mike should face the consequences. But isit true?

Some girls want to rally for Mike’s expulsion—and some want to rally around Mike. As rumors about what really happenedspread, the students at North Bay Academy will question what it means to be guilty or innocent, right or wrong.




Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 4 Stars
My Review: The first thing about this book is that it deals with some major things.  The author does have a trigger warning note at the start of the book so make sure you check it out before you read this one if you think it may not be for you.  

This story deals with abuse and really asks the question on what kind of girl would allow this to happen to themselves.  I really loved the multiple POVs and you don't even know who is who and it worked so well.  The story was done so well and is so important. 










Review

"I immediately saw myself in this book, which so thoroughly explains the thought process when coming to terms with victimhood and survivorship. I felt understood-Sheinmel's What Kind of Girl is my new best friend." - Chessy Prout, author of I Have the Right To

"Important, raw, timely and ultimately hopeful, Sheinmel's WHAT KIND OF GIRL demands readers discuss the trauma of teen dating violence and how girls are so often taught-even expected-to internalize their victimization." - Shannon M. Parker, author of The Girl Who Fell and The Rattled Bones

"Both timely and timeless, WHAT KIND OF GIRL is a powerful exploration of abuse in its many forms, as well as the strength it takes to rise up and speak your truth. Alyssa Sheinmel has crafted a compelling, moving, and empowering story of hope and courage-one that will stay with you long after you've turned the last page." - Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be, The Last to Let Go, and Something Like Gravity

"A poignant, thought-provoking novel that will resonate deeply." - Kirkus Reviews

"An immersive experience...What Kind of Girl bears testament to the resilience of teenagers' spirits and the galvanizing power of friendship." - Foreword

"Fans of Jennifer Mathieu's Moxie and Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces will enjoy this multiple points-of-view novel for the highly relevant subject matter, including domestic violence, self-harm, eating disorders, and mental illness. Recommended for purchase for its diverse characters and timely topics." - School Library Journal

"This hard-hitting novel about social norms and mental health expresses the importance of honesty and self-advocacy." - Publishers Weekly

"A must read for young adults... What Kind of Girl by Alyssa Sheinmel answers all the questions we never knew we had about dating abuse." - Affinity Magazine

"This book is powerful and would definitely make a great addition to any high school library or classroom." - School Library Connection

About the Author

Alyssa Sheinmel is the bestselling author of several novels for young adults including Faceless, What Kind of Girl, The Castle School (for Troubled Girls), and A Danger to Herself and Others.  Follow Alyssa on Instagram @alyssasheinmel, or visit her online at alyssasheinmel.com.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...