January 06, 2022

#BookReview: The Murder Game by Carrie Doyle






Synopsis: What if your best friend and roommate killed a teacher at your prep school? Or what if he didn’t do it, but he’s being framed, and you’re the only person who can save him?

Luke Chase didn’t mean to get caught up solving the mystery of Mrs. Heckler’s murder. He just wanted to spend alone time with the new British girl at their boarding school.

But little did he know someone would end up dead right next to their rendezvous spot in the woods, and his best friend and roommate Oscar Weymouth would be the one to take the blame. With suspects aplenty and a past that’s anything but innocent, Luke Chase reluctantly calls on his famous survival skills to solve the mystery and find the true killer.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 4 Stars
My Review: This was a hit to the gut murder mystery that I couldn't put down.  It kept me on the edge of my seat while I tried to figure out who did what and how it was going to end. 











From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up-Luke Chase and his best friend Oscar just wanted a night of teenage rebellion at their quiet, private boarding school. The plan was simple: sneak out of their dorm, meet their friends Kelsey and Pippa, and have a fun evening. When they hear adults near their hangout spot, the four teens think they're caught. Instead, they hear a murder. The victim, Mrs. Heckler, is the flirtatious wife of one of the deans, and when rumors fly that she was having an affair with a student, Oscar becomes the prime suspect. Luke knows Oscar is innocent, so he starts his own investigation to clear his friend's name. Doyle uses her past work writing cozy mysteries to create an intriguing whodunit with enough red herrings and plot twists to keep readers guessing until the big reveal. The teen characters are richly developed and complex, with interesting and suspicious motives. However, the adult characters are more stereotypical and some readers may find the interactions between the teens and adults implausible. In particular, the teachers are too informal and open with their students. While the resolution is tidy, the pacing is a bit rushed near the climax, and readers may be left wanting more. Readers who enjoyed Karen M. McManus's One of Us Is Lying, Dana Mele's People Like Us, and Chelsea Pitcher's This Lie Will Kill You will find this a satisfying read. Most main characters' races aren't stated, and there is some diversity in the supporting cast. VERDICT A character-driven murder mystery that will leave readers guessing until the big reveal.-Kaetlyn Phillips, Yorkton, Sask.α(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review

"A character-driven murder mystery that will leave readers guessing until the big reveal." - School Library Journal

"A solid, well-paced read for any lover of YA mystery." - Booklist









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...